Comfort Women of the Japanese Military

IMG_20140722_193207

As I was taking a stroll through my city one weekend afternoon, I stumbled upon this monument above. It piqued my interest as the statue was of a little girl sitting in a chair, and an empty chair next to her with flowers and a wreath on it.

This is what I read as I came close to monument :

IMG_20140722_193314

This little girl is symbolic to what went on to over 200,000 women from various places, including Korea, China, and the Philippines, Burma, Thailand, Vietnam, Malaysia, Taiwan, Indonesia, East Timor, and other Japanese-occupied territories during World War II.

I have to be honest with you. I became emotional while reading the placard that explained the symbolism of this statue, as I felt all of the pain from these women coming to life through the little girl sitting there with closed fist all alone.  I never knew of such travesties before the day I walked by the monument . It broke my heart to know that young girls and women were forced to endure years of rape and abuse, yet be called ‘comfort women’. Where was there comfort? Are their spirits in comfort and at peace?

I’m not so sure about that one because when I walked away and went into the library, I couldn’t stop myself from crying! I went between aisles and tried to focus on DVD titles, but  I had to let it out. I did… right there in the library. I finally asked if they could please stop. I knew that it was the spirits of the women and girls that the monument symbolized. My tears and heartache subsided long enough to get a movie and a couple of books before leaving the library.

When I got home, these girls and women were still on my mind, so a few days later, I went to the monument and placed flowers there and said a prayer for the spirits that remained restless. Sometimes you can bring your wounds and pain with you in the afterlife. I hope my prayer helped them to rest peacefully finally.

IMG_20140722_193304

 Although I , have not experienced something so traumatic personally, just like my ancestors, there are generational wounds that are passed on from situations like this. My empathy makes my understanding runs deep, and I have a place in my heart for these women. I wanted to share this monument with you, my readers, so that you can show your respect for these ‘comfort women’.

I pray that the descendants of these women also heal from the dark history that this monument signifies and heals all familial generational wounds.

IMG_20140722_193333

P.S.- I must have good timing, because this article just came out a few hours ago. I’m glad to know they didn’t just cross my mind!

 http://www.timeslive.co.za/world/2014/07/23/south-korea-japan-resume-comfort-women-talks

One thought on “Comfort Women of the Japanese Military

Leave a Reply

